Hello! Is Anybody there?

If you are one of those people with the new-age mobile device, 247 internet access and the sufficient level of literacy to use them both, well then my friend you may have noticed that the world has become a little more closer to you than ever before.

You can make as many ‘friends’ from as many locations as you may wish. You can keep track on the ‘facts’ about your favorite people, places, stories and whatnot.

You can practically see the world if you so wish.

And this is a good thing, right?

But like all things we finally get the chance to acquire, it all seems to mean less once in ones possession (call me the negative person that always finds a reason to be unhappy with something – you’ll be wrong).

I mean, there was a time you would actually enjoy to pick up an album and flip through those memories embed in that old collection of pictures (some even embarrassing  and that was always sentimental. Now your pictures and those of people you ‘know’  find themselves on facebook, twitter, instagram, Google+, etc, either posted by yourself or people that you ‘know’ for the world to comment and ‘like’ and share with more people you know and some that you don’t know, and suddenly the whole pictures thing – no longer as meaningful.

We have now abundant avenues to see our loved one, reminisce on good times and store ‘personal’ content, but it seems like the easier and sufficiently it comes, the less we treasure it.

There was a time you would look forward to putting away some time may be once or twice a week, to sign into that ridiculous yahoo or hotmail email account that was usually half – some letters from your name and the other half some numerals, both halves joined by an underscore; just to chat with the people you love, and you had a lot of meaningful and interesting truths to tell them, because you hadn’t been in touch with them in a while. Now 90% of your facebook friends and family show a green light meaning that they are available for you to chat with, yet (at least for me) you are wishing none of them attempts to chat with you because – one, you have nothing interesting to say to them and you think neither do they and – two, you really don’t have that much time to spend on facebook, all you want is quickly browse through what interests you.

But I am probably writing about something you already know or have thought about (but I am still better than you because I have now blogged about it)  so enough of that.

This was meant to be my opening statement to my thoughts (yes, my opening statements are usually this long), but you see ‘dear’ reader, I first attempted to write this article 3 days ago, so obviously whatever thoughts I had then are now long gone.

However, this is my site and frankly since it’s not like I have some kind of a following or make any money from what I write (I blame you), I really don’t care if the next few lines bare no sense in them. (this also serves as a disclaimer).

So what’s on my mind today?

  • I think weed (marijuana) smells bad and that bitter taste it leaves on your lips is really uncalled for something that’s supposed to make you feel awesome about yourself and the world around you.
  • I don’t feel guilty for thinking about smacking my 4months old for crying hysterically yet clearly nothing is the matter. I mean sometimes it feels like she cries just because she can, at 3am. Because after a few arm swings, soothing rubbings and an occasional sweet melody she’s back to sleep. All this wouldn’t be a problem if only she (the child’s mother) would carry out her obviously God given skills (because I absolutely would not get out of my bed to do any of that nonsense) from another room and not switch the lights on especially since I slept only a few minutes ago after trying to finish watching the entire 2nd season of Suits in one go while sipping on some Captain Morgan that remained from the last drink-up we had at my house and now I really need to sleep like a baby (a saying I have recently developed mixed feelings about).
  • In-laws can really be difficult ( I am speaking from my wife’s point of view) (it’s not a disclaimer) (I am not winking) (I didn’t want to use a stronger word than ‘difficult’) (I don’t fancy sleeping with Rihanna).
  • Alcohol is awesome. It’s even more awesome if taken in excess.
  • Those times when you are extremely drunk and you do ‘stupid’ things (notice how I have been using my inverted commas – it’ll take a relatively intelligent person to get this) are the few ones when you are truly happy, that and the first time you give an instruction to your 1 and a half years old baby girl (“take this phone to mommy”) and she actually gets you and executes, when you win a argument because you are clearly wiser and more informed than the other person, when you buy your first iPad, when you out drive some wanker, when you finally get that girl, when that girls finally gets you etc, these (in no particular order) are truly happy moments. Other moments are pretend-happy-moments.

Of course all of these things were on my mind when I started writing except the weed (marijuana) part. I just thought of the other things, because although I don’t care, I felt like I hadn’t given you (my 3 readers – hoping my wife is not part of the 3) enough.

But like all great/good things, today’s article must also reach it’s end.

Peace

Yours truly,

Arthorious.

~ by arthurscount on March 21, 2013.

2 Responses to “Hello! Is Anybody there?”

  1. am forwarding this part…There was a time you would look forward to putting away some time may be once or twice a week, to sign into that ridiculous yahoo or hotmail email account that was usually half – some letters from your name and the other half some numerals, both halves joined by an underscore; just to chat with the people you love, and you had a lot of meaningful and interesting truths to tell them, because you hadn’t been in touch with them in a while. Now 90% of your facebook friends and family show a green light meaning that they are available for you to chat with, yet (at least for me) you are wishing none of them attempts to chat with you because – one, you have nothing interesting to say to them and you think neither do they and – two, you really don’t have that much time to spend on facebook, all you want is quickly browse through what interests you. ..count arthur

  2. Hahahaha, Mr. Cris Luwuge, you are forwarding it to who exactly??

Leave a Reply

 
